Jazz Festival 2013, 8th August to 13th August

Jun 27, 2013 No Comments by
Jazz Festival, Bulgaria

Mungo Jerry Blues Band

The Bansko International Jazz Festival 2013 programme for 8th to 13th August is now here.

Dr Iliev, the Jazz Festival organiser had the vision and it keeps on going every year. The Festival brings Bansko alive with great music.

I think many will agree that the programme, see below, is the best for many years. Another reason to give Bansko a try this summer.

Visit banskojazzfest.com for more.

Video below is Mungo Jerry, in 2012.

Jazz Fest 2013 is the time to visit Bansko in the summer. The 2013 fest has big band and standard jazz, blues, bebop, swing, dixieland and “free music”. One of the highlights is on Saturday 10th, late on the main square when Ive Mendes performs.

Ive Mendes, from her web site (ivemendes.com) says…“She is famously known as the ‘Brazilian Sade’ and one of the pioneers of the new Brazilian sound in the international market. Ive became part of this new generation of Brazilian’s doing something called ‘Nu Brazil’ and is proud to be part of that. She is a complex composer and singer with a unique sound, someone who’s music you can not really label by genre.”

I agree, and as I am a Sade fan, I can vouch that other Sade fans will enjoy Ive Mendes.

From midday on the 10th August (and from 16:00 when the DJ music starts) the The Good Beer Show (also on Saturday 3rd August) at Bansko Royal Towers is the place to be.

 

The Bansko Jazz Fest 2013 programme

 

 

Date / Day

Community center “Nikola Vaptzarov” – Start 20:00 h
August 6th, Tuesday 1. Concert – pianist Duo Kareevi - (Germany / Bulgaria)
August 7th, Wednesday
1. Piano concert – Prof. Yovcho Krushev - (Bulgaria)* Tickets for these two concerts may be purchased at the community center
Main stage “Nikola Vaptzarov” square – Start 19:00 h
August 8th, Thursday .  Uroš Perić “Perry” with The Mambo Stars & Pearlettes (Slovenia / Serbia) - www.urosperich.com2. Sharrie Williams & Band ( USA) - www.sharriewilliams.com

3. Michaela Rabitsch & Robert Pawlik Quartet – Voyagers  (Austria) - www.michaelarabitsch.com

4. Sunnie & Moni Venkov Combo (Bulgaria)

August 9th, Friday 1. Laverny Sebastian Quartet (Germany) - www.sebastianlaverny.de2. Fabio Lepore Jazz Quartet – “Pausa Caffe” (Italy) - www.fabiolepore.it

3. Gadjo Dilo (Greece) - www.in-art.gr

4. Bobby Carcasses & Angel Zaberski Quartet (Cuba / Bulgaria)

August 10th, Saturday 1. Sentimental Swingers & Mihail Yossifov sextet (Bulgaria) - www.facebook.com / SentimentalSwingers2. Collective TG (UK) - www.tgcollective.com

3. Angie King (UK) - www.angiekingsinger.com

4. Ive Mendes (Brazil) - www.ivemendes.com

August 11th, Sunday 1. Vein jazz Trio (Switzerland) - www.vein.ch2. Miroslava Katzarova & Band (Bulgaria) - miroslavakatsarova.com

3. Spaghetti Swing (Italy) - www.spaghettiswing.it

4. Hubbert Tubbs and Blues & Soul Revue (USA / Austria) - www.bestattung-altbart.at

August 12th, Monday 1. Elmhurst College Jazz Band (USA) - https://public.elmhurst.edu/music/135053148.html2. Smarton Trio & Veronika Harcsa (Hungary) - https://smartontrio.bandcamp.com, www.smartontrio.com

3. Ana Moura (Portugal) - www.anamoura.net

4. Sidesteps (Germany) - www.gerdbaier.de

August 13th, Tuesday 1. Big Band & Blagoevgrad Vassil Petrov, Stefka Onikian (Bulgaria) - www.vassilpetrov.com, https://stefkaonikian.free.bg
2. The Blackout Trio (USA)3. Ray Gelato & the Giants (UK) - www.raygelato.com

4. Ehud Ettun Trio (Israel) - www.ehudettun.com

 

Subscribe for more info on events in Bansko. Never ever is an email shared or sold. Unsubscribe anytime. Free The Essential Guide To Bansko (updated June 2013), for all subscribers.

 

Events


About the author

I enjoy tech, apps, entrepreneurship, podcasting and collaboration with others. I love travelling as well as skiing, hiking, MTB, paragliding, cooking and good food.
No Responses to “Jazz Festival 2013, 8th August to 13th August”

Leave a Reply